Life in Farmville
Located in western Pitt County, we are an open and welcoming community of approximately 4,800 residents. Known as the “friendliest little town in the state” in the 1920’s, we continue that tradition today.
We offer a quality of life unmatched in other small towns. Recently named a finalist in the All America City competition, Farmville’s vibrant Main Street, excellent schools, effective government, affordable housing, active churches, outstanding library and museum, six parks and country club, and a creative Arts Council all combine to make the community a wonderful place to live, work and prosper.
Business and Culture
Our Central Business District features businesses that have been on Main Street for more than 50 years as well as brand new ones.
Our Historic District encompasses more than 330 contributing buildings in the Central Business District. The district encompasses 330 contributing buildings, 1 contributing site, and 2 contributing structures in the central business district and surrounding residential sections of Farmville. It includes buildings dated from about 1860 to 1942 and notable examples of Colonial Revival, Classical Revival, and Queen Anne style architecture. Notable buildings include the James W. May House (c. 1860), Fields-Rasberry House (c. 1900), Dr. David Morrill House (c. 1909), Warren Parker House, Nannie Smith House (c. 1884), First Christian Church (1910), Emmanuel Episcopal Church (1920), St. Elizabeth Catholic Church, Municipal Building (1928) possibly designed by Benton & Benton, Bank of Farmville (1921) designed by Benton & Benton, Pollard Auto Company Building, Paramount Theatre (1930s), J. Y. Monk Tobacco Warehouse, and East Carolina Railway Office and Freight Station.
It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1993.
(Allison H. and David R. Black (May 1993). “Farmville Historic District” (pdf). National Register of Historic Places – Nomination and Inventory. North Carolina State Historic Preservation Office. Retrieved 2015-02-01.)
Farmville is home to a contemporary library and the May Museum, which is the only full-time general history museum in Pitt County.
Located within the greater Farmville area are two medical clinics and a pediatric center, two dental facilities, two optometrists, three pharmacies, one veterinary clinic and other specialties that serve the community. Farmville is just a short distance from Vident Medical Center as well as other medical specialists.
Established in 2005, the Visitor’s Center is located at 3747 South Main Street in the office of the Farmville Chamber of Commerce. Maps and brochures with detailed information about Farmville and the surrounding area are available.
To contact the Visitor’s Center, please call 252-753-4671.
Step into Farmville and step back in time. Stroll down the quaint Main Street where many of the buildings date back to the early 1900’s and are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The First Christian Church, located on the corner of Church and Main Street, celebrated its 150th anniversary in 2004, and in 2005, Farmville Furniture celebrated its 100th anniversary.
Farmville’s downtown area has maintained its vibrancy and vitality of an earlier age. The Paramount Theatre, an art-deco movie house dating back to 1921, has been converted into the home of Farmville’s Community Arts Council. For more information, please call 252-753-4671.
In 1988, Farmville constructed a new Town Hall and Courtroom and created the beautifully landscaped Town Common.
Named for former Congressman Walter B. Jones, Sr., the Town Common features a gazebo, which is now the town’s logo, and the Millennium Fountain. Built entirely by citizen donations in 1999, the three levels of water represent the past, present and future, and the Fountain symbolizes the community’s commitment to honor the past and shape the future.
The May Museum and Park is dedicated to preserving and interpreting Farmville area history. Tabitha Marie DeVisconti, the last descendant of Major Benjamin May to live in the 19th century house, donated her home, property and many artifacts to the town of Farmville. Following renovations, the Town opened the facility in 1991 as the May Museum and Park.
The home was built circa 1870 by James William May. His grandfather, Major Benjamin May, settled the area south of Black Swamp in the colonial period and was known to have “promoted and motivated his community in an exemplary manner.”
The May Museum and Park is located at 3802 South Main Street. For additional information, call (252) 753-6725.
Established in 1935, this original “Donald Ross” style course is nestled among fairways lined with 300 year old oak and cypress trees. Measuring just over 6200 yards, the course features immaculately manicured fairways and championship tees.
The spacious well-equipped club house boasts a formal dining room, snack area, men’s locker room and ladies’ lounge. The Farmville Country Club also offers a full-service pro shop.
For more information, please call 252-753-3660.